Our fleet

Ever wondered why one train may not look identical to another?

A large train network as vast as ours requires a diverse range of trains. Some trains need to be fitted with onboard toilet facilities for longer trips while others may be single-deck diesel trains for lines in less populated areas.

Choose a train below for statistics and diagrams or read more about Sydney Trains older generations of electric rolling stock.

Waratah (A Sets) entered service 2011-2014

Operate on the T1 North Shore, Northern & Western, T2 Airport, Inner West & South, T3 Bankstown and T7 Olympic Park lines.

Millenium (M Sets) entered service 2002-2005

Operate on the T2 Airport, Inner West & South and T3 Bankstown lines.

Tangara (T Sets) entered service 1988-1995

Operate on all Sydney suburban lines.

C Sets entered service 1986-1987
C Set

Operate on the T2 Airport, Inner West & South and T3 Bankstown lines.

S Sets entered service 1972-1981 and will be progressively retired
S Set

Operate on the T7 Olympic Park Line.

K Set train entered service 1981-1985
K Set

Operate on the T1 North Shore, Northern & Western Line.

Intercity fleet maintained for NSW Trains

Oscar (H Sets) entered service 2006-2012

Operate beyond the Sydney suburban area to intercity destinations such as Wyong (Central Coast & Newcastle Line) and Kiama (South Coast Line).

Hunter entered service 2006-2007

Service the Hunter Line.

V Sets entered service 1977-1989
V Set

Operate on to Hamilton (Central Coast & Newcastle Line) and Lithgow (Blue Mountains Line).

Endeavour entered service 1994-1996

Service the Hunter, Southern Highlands and South Coast lines (between Kiama and Bomaderry).